Top Menu

About the BDA

What’s the BDA all about? 

The Brunswick Downtown Association is one of Maine’s 10 National Main Street Communities!

Main Street America leads a movement committed to strengthening communities through preservation-based economic development in older and historic downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts. We use the Four-Point Approach framework created by the National Main Street Center, which was established by the National Trust in 1980.

The Brunswick Downtown Association is a member-driven, action oriented organization of businesses and citizens who work together for a better community. Our goal is to develop and maintain a vital, hospitable and lively downtown: a location for congregation, socializing and commerce and a source of pride for residents and neighbors. The BDA coordinates downtown improvement projects, sponsors public programs and organizes special events.

BDA’s Vision Statement: Brunswick will be a thriving commercial, social, cultural and entertainment destination.
BDA’s Mission Statement: To promote Downtown Brunswick as a vibrant and attractive place to live, work, play and do business.

Annual membership fees and generous donations allow us to continue this important work. The Brunswick Downtown Association (BDA) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that depends on members’ dues, sponsors, and donations from individual contributions to keep the association growing and improving. When you become a friend of the BDA, 100% of your contribution helps to build a stronger Brunswick. The Brunswick Downtown Association was designated as a Main Street community in 2012.


Join the BDA  •  Support the BDA

BDA Board of Directors 2024

BOARD OFFICERS:

Chair: Brian Robinson
Mechanics Savings
brobinson@mechanicssavings.com

Vice-Chair: Don Kniseley
Local Resident dkniseley@comcast.net

Treasurer: Bob Langworthy
Management Accounting
Bob@mainebeancounters.com

Secretary: Rebecca Launer
Bath Savings Institution
rlauner@bathsavings.com

BOARD MEMBERS:

Annemarie Albiston
Adaptive Outdoor Education Center annemarie13@hotmail.com

Cathy Barter
Bangor Savings Bank Cathy.Barter@Bangor.com

Robert Biggs
Local Resident
robbiggsmaine@gmail.com

Frank “Bucky” Brown
Local Resident
fbrown1414@gmail.com

Tom Carr
Edward Jones Investments
tom.carr@edwardjones.com

Michael Cartwright
Berries Hearing & Optical Center
michael@berrieshearing.com

Sue Ellen Damour
Local Resident
sedadamour@msn.com

Anna Darby
Wilbur’s of Maine Chocolates
brunswick@wilburs.com

BOARD MEMBERS:

Peggy Ealahan
Riley Insurance
pealahan@rileyinsuranceagency.com

Catherine Ferdinand
Bowdoin College
cferdina@bowdoin.edu

Kristine Logan
MRRA
kristines@mmra.us

Casey Maloney
Midcoast Hospital
casey.maloney@mainhealth.org

Jane Millett
RE/MAX Riverside
jmillett@remax.net

Dee Perry
Senter Place senterplace@gmail.com

Henry Recknagel
Thornton Oaks Retirement Community
hrecknagel@thorntonoaks.com

Marshall Shepherd
Wild Oats Bakery marshall@wildoatsbakery.com

Hannah Simmler
Gem Appraisal Services, LLC
hannah@gemappraisalservices.com

All BDA board meetings are open to the public to attend. If you are interested in attending one of our Board meetings, please contact Executive Director Lynn Mansfield at director@brunswickdowntown.org for meeting information, including a “Zoom link”. Current standing committee meetings:

BDA Board of Directors – Meets every 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:30 AM.
BDA Membership Committee – Meets every 3rd Tuesday of each month at 8:00 AM.
BDA Events Committee – Meets every 4th Wednesday of each month at 9:30 AM.
BDA Design Committee – Meets every 3rd Thursday of each month at 9:30 AM.
BDA Marketing CommitteeStanding meetings have yet to be determined, please contact our office for meeting information.

BDA Staff:
Executive Director:
 Lynn Mansfield, director@brunswickdowntown.org
Marketing & Communications: Patti Spencer-Yost, marketing@brunswickdowntown.org
Membership & Events Coordinator: Christopher Riccardo, admin@brunswickdowntown.org

Our office is located at 124 Maine Street, Suite 107 (in Senter Place); mailing address: P.O. Box 15, Brunswick, Maine 04011

© 2013 Brunswick Downtown Association